The small village lies at the foot of the Tribeč Mountains 18 kilometers west of Zlaté Moravce and has about 340 inhabitants. The first written mention of the village comes from 1113, when it is mentioned under the name Costelan, which was derived from the word church. It is the Church of St. Juraja is the most important monument of the village. Based on the archaic type of architecture, as well as the latest results of archaeological research in the adjacent cemetery from the 11th - 18th century, the church was built at the turn of the 10th and 11th centuries at the latest. However, it is possible that the church was built even earlier, even at the end of the existence of Great Moravia. Its cultural value is multiplied by preserved wall paintings from the 11th century. It is declared a national cultural monument and European cultural heritage. Since 2001, its comprehensive renewal has been carried out intermittently after it underwent several insensitive modifications and reconstructions, especially during the 20th century. The church is also one of the stops on the Kostolian educational trail, where visitors can learn more about the village and its surroundings. The surrounding countryside provides many opportunities for recreation, hiking and cycling. From the village there is a tourist path to Veľký Lysec, on which the rock formations are up to 50 m high and there are training climbing rocks and an interesting rock window.