The church was built by the Bishop of Spiš, Juraj Császka, at the request of Archduke Klotilda in 1888. The project was made by the architect Gedeon Majunke from Spišská Sobota.
The solemn consecration of the church took place on August 26, 1888. A year later, a picture of the Holy Family painted on glass and a picture of St. George. On the stained glass window depicting St. Juraja is the coat of arms of Bishop Juraj and Császka. The original tower had weak foundations and tilted. In 1929, on the night of August 9-10, thunder struck the church and seriously damaged it. In 1932, the tower was dismantled and a simple shelter was made above the entrance. In 1959 the church was reconstructed and a new tower was built.
In 1977, the colored stained glass windows, made by the academic painter Vincent Hložník and his wife and daughter, began to be realized. Gradually, until 1979, all the windows were installed. The church is a real architectural gem. On the altar is a beautiful statue of the Gothic Madonna of Ruskinovice, the original of which is now in the National Museum in Bratislava. The facsimile of the Madonna was created by prof. Mária Spoločníkova from Košice in 1983. The sculpture fits very artistically into the architecture of the neo-Gothic altar, of which it forms an inseparable part. The overall decoration is composed so that it fits directly into one of the largest tourist sites in Slovakia, which is visited by many people from around the world. Therefore, the saints depicted on the stained glass windows represent the universality of the whole Church. In 1981, a new flute organ was built in the church, which was built by a master from Brno, Mr. Girl with co-workers.