The beginning of construction dates back to the last quarter of the 13th century. The previous single-nave church basically coincided with the main nave of today's church.
However, this church was destroyed by fire in 1378 and the construction of a new, more magnificent church soon began. Work on the new church took place in three stages.
At the beginning of the 16th century, the construction was suspended for financial reasons.
The church underwent various reconstructions, but its Gothic style did not change at all. Unfortunately, relatively little of the original equipment has been preserved. The vast majority of it was destroyed in a great fire in 1556. Of course, other fires did their thing in the following centuries. The church has many monuments from different periods.
Unique is the internal layout of the temple, where the main nave and four side aisles cross in mid-length one transept of the same height and width as the main nave with which it forms the Greek cross.
This creates a large central space in the middle of the cathedral and three equivalent gables on the exterior with richly decorated portals, which belong to the peaks of medieval stonemasonry in Central Europe.
The main altar of St. Elizabeth was built between 1474 and 1477.