The museum's efforts in Nitra date back to the middle of the 19th century, when professors and students of the Piarist grammar school began to collect first numismatic, then archaeological and historical objects. The official county museum was founded in 1896. The current museum is not a direct successor of the county museum, because it has ceased to exist since 1951. The current museum was founded by the Municipal National Committee in Nitra in December 1962 and placed in the building of the Great Seminary. Since 1900, it has been housed in the Neo-Renaissance monumental town hall building built in 1880 according to the project of the Nitra builder Ján Lyka. In 1993, the museum, in cooperation with the Academy of Sciences of the Slovak Republic in Nitra, prepared and opened an exposition of the jewel type Gems of Ancient Slovakia, where more than 2,200 rare archaeological finds are concentrated. Every year, the museum prepares 20-25 exhibitions, several lectures, discussions, but also non-traditional activities, such as demonstrations of handicrafts, folklore, classical music concerts, etc., and museum pedagogy activities. It also provides space for the activities of organizations, associations, associations and individuals that are close to the focus and mission of the museum. The Ponitrian Museum is managed by the Museum in Zlaté Moravce and since 2008 the building of folk architecture Dom lidového bývania in Šala.